Should I care about Google+?

12 Jul

YES.

And I’m not just saying that because I’m a social media nerd. I was not on board with Color or Buzz, never spread my LBS wings past Foursquare and Gowalla. I’m a fan of applications and platforms that work – and Google+ does just that.

Since Facebook has grown to include not only college roommates, but parents, grandparents, nieces/nephews and your random next door neighbor, we have been questioning how to use the network appropriately for all audiences. The truth is, there is no good way to address all of those audiences on a platform like Facebook – that is the true value of Google+

Google+ allows you to segment your audience into circles. What are circles? Think of them as holding areas for your audiences. I have circles for: friends, family, marketing, co-workers, and misc. When I have a cute photo of my dog to upload, that will got to only my family circle. If I want to share my latest blog post, the marketing circle and co-worker circles can both receive my message at once. If I want to share my late night check-in at the local watering hole, that goes to my friends. If you have a general post, it can either be public or you can select only “your circles” which keeps it limited to those you have in your circles.

I cannot wait to see how this network grows and evolves and can’t wait to see what Google has in store for company pages, which will launch at a later date. I am also excited for the network to grow past marketing nerds and early adopters – that will be a true test of its value.

Leave a Reply

